2012 Shining Lights Winners Announced

Enable is pleased to announce honorees for the 2012 Shining Lights Annual Awards Celebration to be held Thursday, September 27 at the DoubleTree Hotel.   


Robert SimpsonRobert Simpson, President and Chief Executive Officer of Centerstate CEO, will receive the William Fitzpatrick Community Service Award. Mr. Simpson was a driving force behind the creation of Centerstate CEO through the merger of the Metropolitan Development Association of Syracuse and the Greater Syracuse Chamber of Commerce. He served as co-chair of the Central New York Regional Economic Development Council that secured over $103 million in state economic development funds for projects throughout the Central New York region. He has re-energized the business community and created new opportunities for all entrepreneurs.  Leanne Morphet

Leanne Morphet will receive the Lionel Grossman Award. With a background in electrical and computer engineering, her research has focused on the lication of technologies to those with special needs, with particular expertise on assistive technologies for those with autism spectrum disorders (ASD). Her activities include supporting families with children with an ASD through various advocacy projects, most notably the use of touch pad technology such as the iPad. She provides training to Enable staff and other professionals on the use of that technology. In a true reflection of Enable’s founding father, Ms. Morphet also assists families in need of school advocacy, runs a family support group and helps families of newly diagnosed children connect to resources in the community. She and her husband, Dr. Steven Morphet are proud parents to two children, one who has an autism spectrum disorder.       

Courtney McCabeCourtney McCabe will receive the Thomas Rigney Participant Recognition Award. For three years she has been employed as a Teacher’s Assistant at World of Wonder Child Care where she enjoys working with the children and watching them grow. She is very self-sufficient, has an apartment, owns and pays for her car. She works independently with few reminders from her supervisors and contacts her job coach each week to share her work schedule. She has shown tremendous growDCC Logoth in independence and has become an effective advocate for herself.  

The Syracuse University Disability Cultural Center will receive a Special Recognition Award. The initiative to create a university-wide Disability Cultural Center (DCC) began after the Chancellor’s Task Force on Disability at Syracuse University recommended the establishment of a center in its 2007 report to the Chancellor. The DCC functions as an umbrella organization under which social, cultural, and educational programming related to disability and disability culture takes place. It is a partner to other existing programsDiane Wiener, groups and departments across campus. Under the direction of Dr. Diane Wiener, the DCC has brought disability culture into the forefront of institutional and community consideration. As one corner of the four cultural centers at the University, the DCC under Dr. Weiner’s guidance, now advocates for and brings together members of the disability community and allies. These efforts have brought the university and community to a new level of understanding and acceptance. 

Additional award winners will be profiled at a later date, and include:  

Contribution to Inclusion Award
American Food and Vending

Dean Cullen Direct Service Award
Courtney Burke

25 Years of Service
Karen Abbott
Anne Marie Abt
Linda Bogart
Elinor Fairbrother
Diane Weiermann

30 Years of Service
Sally Johnston